Lizard King Records est. 2003

Thirteen Tales of Love and Revenge

Posted on 27th March, by in Discography. No Comments

Thirteen Tales of Love and Revenge is the third full-length album by The Pierces.

Both “Three Wishes” and “Secret” appeared on the television series Gossip Girl in the episode “Hi, Society”, where The Pierces made a cameo appearance as well; the music video for “Boring” appeared on the DVD of season 1. “Secret” is also the theme song for the TV series Pretty Little Liars and some of its lyrics are quoted during an episode in the show’s second season.

Hot Fuss

Posted on 27th March, by in Discography. No Comments

The album was recorded between February and November 2003 at Cornerstone Studios in Berkeley, California, with Mark Needham and Jeff Saltzman; and in Las Vegas with the help of Corlene Byrd. Many of the tracks were originally recorded as demos, which the band decided to keep for their spontaneity. They did, however, have some tracks remixed by Alan Moulder at Eden Studios in London.

Hot Fuss is mainly influenced by New Wave and post-punk artists such as New Order, The Cure, Morrissey (with and without The Smiths), Duran Duran, and The Cars. Other influences include David Bowie, U2, Oasis, Smashing Pumpkins, and Lou Reed.

The album includes the second and third parts of the so-called Murder Trilogy, “Midnight Show” and “Jenny Was a Friend of Mine”. The first part, “Leave the Bourbon on the Shelf”, appears on The Killers’ B-sides and rarities compilation, Sawdust.